Job Appication Follow-Up

To Whom It May Concern:

I am writing to follow-up on the status of my application. Actually, that’s not true. I know you are not interested in hiring me since you have not gotten back to me in three weeks. This is a letter to complain about your company’s rude behavior.

Please realize that I endured a long, dragged out interview with your company, only to be snubbed the common courtesy of a “thanks, but no thanks” e-mail. It is unfair for you to waste three hours of my life (more if you include travel time, getting pretty time, and thank you note writing time), when you cannot waste thirty seconds to copy-paste a standard rejection letter to a sub-par candidate.

I suffered through mundane questions which required false replies. The truth is my best quality is that I need a job and my worst quality is that I don’t have one.

Your best quality is that you seemed interested. Your worst quality is that you just wanted to chat for three hours. Three hours! This takes inefficiency to a new level. Foolishly, I assumed that the lengthy discussions were a reflection of interest. Turns out I was wrong. You too were misleading, also guilty of fraudulent behavior in the interview.

I never saw myself as a key player in your organization five years from now. In actuality, I will either resign to become a teacher who picks on her students until they cry, or I will be working for a company that pays well and bores me to tears. I have yet to commit as to who should suffer: the children or me. If it is me, the misery will not be at your hands.

Have a cold winter, one that matches your soul.

Sincerely,
Rachel L. Arbeit

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sincerelyrachelarbeit.wordpress.com/2009/12/14/job-appication-follow-up/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

